Parry Museum, One Room Schoolhouse, Dairy Barn
Recreation includes museum, dairy museum and a reconstructed one-room stone schoolhouse.
Electric, water and restrooms. The Monroe County Park District acquired the Parry house and 5-acres of land in 1974. The house was built in the 1800’s and furnished in turn of the century style. This property is leased to the Monroe County Historical Society. The Museum contains priceless heirlooms that portray life in Monroe County during the 1800’s and the early 1900’s. Archives are also kept in the Museum for Genealogical references. During the summer months, a caretaker and tour guide is on duty to welcome visitors to explore Monroe County’s rich historic past.
A dog powered cheese factory and containment was purchased in 1973, and moved onto the Parry house property.
The Byers stone block Schoolhouse was also moved from Graysville onto the Parry property. This one room schoolhouse is on display for the benefit of those that care to share the experience of schooling in a wood stove heated, multi-grade level, one room classroom.
117 Eastern Ave.
Local Number: (740) 472-1933
Special Hours: By Appointment