Mesopotamia Village Historic District
The center of Mesopotamia, better known as the "Commons", is surrounded by 28 buildings, 21 of them built before the Civil War and included on the National Register of Historic Places.
Fairview Cemetery, which was established in 1818 and sits adjacent to the Commons on the east side, features unique stone markers carved out of limestone by local sculptor, Howard Brigden. A number of Civil War veterans are buried here.
The End of the Commons General Store, which has been in continuous operation since the 1840s, sits at the south end of the town’s center.
Today this area is part of the fourth largest Amish settlement in the country and the second largest in Ohio. Here among the tidy farms and whitewashed houses that dot the countryside in rural northwest Trumbull County, this close-knit community makes a living by farming, working in wood or operating a small unique specialty shop.
Across from the General Store on the east side of the Commons sits the worlds's largest Amish horse and buggy which stands 14' high and 32' long.
State Routes 87 and 534
Local Number: (440) 693-4295
Special Hours: Open 24 hours